Daniel Vickery, the editor of the Western Flying Post, wrote in A Sketch of the Town of Yeovil (1856) that `The town is surrounded on the South East by three remarkable hills - Babylonhill, Windmill-hill [Wyndham Hill], and Newton-hill. From these several points there are prospects so rich in fertility, verdure, and beauty, and smiling prosperity - such brightness, a greenness, and a repose - that the spectator is wrapt in admiration of the view thus spread around and beneath him.' The Yeovil of today is very different from the small market town so enthusiastically described by Vickery. The `hum of distant voices' has been replaced by the drone of motor vehicles and helicopters, and sadly the not infrequent sirens of the emergency services. In Yeovil History Tour, local authors Robin Ansell and Jack Sweet have endeavoured to take you on a fascinating tour through Yeovil, demonstrating how much the town has changed in the past 100 years.
Jack William Sweet has lived all his life in Yeovil, where he was born. After leaving the RAF in 1958 he worked for thirty four years' with Yeovil Borough Council and later the South Somerset District Council before taking early retirement. His passion for history has inspired this prolific author to write numerous articles for local publications as well as many books including Shocking Somerset Murders of the Nineteenth Century and Shocking and Surprising Somerset Stories. Although retired Jack undertakes voluntary work for the Museum of South Somerset. He is also a keen photographer and has travelled extensively.