By: Karoline M. Lewis (author)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability


Karoline Lewis draws together the strengths of two exegetical approaches to the Gospel of John in this volume of the Fortress Biblical Preaching Commentaries series. Lewis takes a broad thematic approach to the Gospel while at the same time giving exegetical and homiletical insights about individual pericopes. With attention to both liturgical interpretation and exegetical analysis, Lewis provides a unique preaching resource that will build biblical literacy by assisting both preachers and listeners in understanding John's Gospel as a whole, not just a collection of vaguely related stories. Those who peruse these pages will discover anew how John's story of Jesus shapes and gives worth to being a disciple for the sake of the world God loves. In other words, the intent of this commentary is to invite the reader into an encounter with the Jesus of John's Gospel. Such an encounter witnesses to how an experience of the Jesus of John actually matters. Readers, preachers, and their parishioners will have a deeper appreciation of the book's unique interpretation of the Christ event and how that influences their approach to living the Christian faith in today's world.

Create a review

About Author

Karoline M. Lewis is associate professor of biblical preaching and the Alvin N. Rogness Chair of Homiletics at Luther Seminary in St. Paul, Minnesota. She is a contributing writer to and co-host of the site's weekly podcast, "Sermon Brainwave."


Contents:; Series Forward; Preface; Indices; Introduction; 1. The Prologue (John 1:1-18); 2. The Calling of the Disciples (John 1:19-51), The First Sign (John 2:1-11), and the Temple Incident (John 2:12-25); 3. A Tale of Three Disciples: Nicodemus (John 3), the Samaritan Woman at the Well (John 4:1-42), and the Royal Official (John 4:43-54); 4. Signs and Wonders (John 5-6); 5. When the Conflict Becomes Real (John 7-8); 6. Jesus as the Door and the Shepherd (John 9-10); 7. Resurrection, Life, and Glory (John 11-12); 8. The Foot Washing (John 13) and the Farewell Discourse (John 14-17); 9. The Passion Narrative (John 18-19); 10. Resurrection Appearances (John 20-21); Index of Passages in the Revised Common Lectionary; Bibliography for Further Reading.

Product Details

  • publication date: 27/11/2014
  • ISBN13: 9780800699246
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 256
  • ID: 9780800699246
  • weight: 303
  • ISBN10: 0800699246

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly