Since 1603, when Sir Arthur Chichester was given the Castle of Belfast, the harbour and its trade has contributed to the growth of that part of the city on the north bank of the River Lagan. Many of the merchants and industrialists built their fine houses in what is now North Belfast. There, too, they built the Poor House (now Clifton House), the new parish church of St Anne, shipyards, cotton and linen mills, a tobacco factory and the oldest grammar school in the city, the Belfast Royal Academy.
This fascinating collection of over 200 photographs reflects these developments and charts the history, character and life of North Belfast, from leisure and social events to some notable local residents. This collection of photographs from Lagan to Cavehill has been assembled by North Belfast Historical Society with contributions from members, friends and residents and local institutions. 200 Illustrations, black and white